John Cayce Named 2023 Rosewood Gavel Award Recipient

St. Mary’s University School of Law have chosen John Cayce, retired Chief Justice of Texas’s Second Court of Appeals, as the 2023 recipient of the Rosewood Gavel Award

Each year since 1958, the law school has presented this award to “an outstanding judge or justice in recognition of his or her contribution to our system of constitutional democracy.” Prior recipients of the award over the years include distinguished active and former members of the U.S. Supreme Court, the Federal circuit and district courts, the Texas Supreme Court, and other Texas courts. The award will be presented at a special luncheon scheduled in San Antonio for October 12, 2023.